Skip to main content

Chariho Middle School Library: Summer Reading 2018

Browse our guides below to discover what the CMS library has to offer!

2018 Summer Requirements for Entering 5th Grade and Entering 7th Grade

  • The expectation is that summer reading projects will be brought in on the first day of school.
  • Students are required to read two books over the summer at their independent reading level. Students are not required to read books from their suggested grade level list.
  • Students must complete a project or Google form that is a book report for each book that includes specific criteria from the criteria checklist.
  • Please use the Criteria Checklist for Fiction Books below for summer reading of a fiction book. This document will also list projects that can be done. You will use this if you are not doing a Google Book Report.
  • Please use the Criteria Checklist for Nonfiction Books below for summer reading of a nonfiction book. This document will also list projects that can be done. You will use this if you are not doing a Google Book Report.
  • Students will once again have the option of completing an online Google form for a book report.  The Google form is only one of the project options available. This form does not store on your computer and is not sent directly to your child's teacher through email but the results are shared with them. It is a good idea to open the form and see what is required and prepare answers.
  • If you like, your child can complete the questions on a word document and then  copy and paste the answers into the form.  This will give your child time to reflect on his/her answers and if you save the document it can be printed and brought into school if needed. 
  • There will be a message on your screen when the form has been sent that simply says "Your response has been recorded."  If in doubt you can always submit another form.

 

2018 Summer Reading Requirements for Students Entering 8th Grade 

 

Option A:

Summer Reading Challenge - Pilot

 

1. Please click on link above.

2. Please open Summer Reading Challenge - Pilot above that leads to a Summer Readng Challenge game card. The link leads to a "Read Only" copy. You will need to go to the "File" menu and choose "Make a Copy".  Please make a copy of the card for each book you read. You are required to read two books so you will make two copies.  Please name them with your last name and the book title.  Please keep them saved on your Google Drive.  You will turn the two copies in during an ELA class when you return to school

3. There is a link to the instructions on how to complete the card right on the card.

Reminders:

All School Rules Apply

1. Respect the Dress Code

2. Respect the Technology

3. Do your best work

 

 

Grading:

To earn full credit each student must complete for each book of the two books required:

1 Green Square-Read one book of your choice

1 Yellow Square-One yellow square to match each book

5 White Squares- Five per book

 

When you make two copies of the card (one for each book) each Summer Reading Game Card is worth up to 1 GRADE. There is one grade per book so reading the two books required will result in two grades.

                       

             Book 1                                             Book 2

Green Square

5 Points

Yellow Square

5 Points

 

Book 1: 15

 

Book 2: 15

 

Total:   30

Green Square

5 Points

Yellow Square

5 Points

White Square

1 Point

White Square

1 Point

White Square

1 Point

White Square

1 Point

White Square

1 Point

White Square

1 Point

White Square

1 Point

White Square

1 Point

White Square

1 Point

White Square

1 Point

 

 

Option B:

Students who do not have internet access or who do not desire to participate in the Summer Reading Challenge - Pilot may use the Criteria Checklist and  Project list. There will not be a Google Book Report Form option for students entering Grade 8. Students will create two projects (one for each book meeting the criteria on the checklist).

2018 Suggested Summer Reading Lists- These are very short as we want to encourage our students to read books for the Rooster Games and Teen Book Battle.

Students are not required to read books from the suggested summer reading lists. There is a Rhode Island Middle School Book Award for grades 6-8. Sixth grade students will continue to participate in CMS Book Battle. Students in grades 6-8 who read at least five of the Rhode Island Middle School Book Award nominees will participate in the CMS Book Battle. Fifth grade students will still use the RI Children Book Award (RICBA) nominees for Rooster Games. Fifth grade students will need to read at least five of RICBA nominees to play in the Rooster games.

Option Fiction Google Book Reports - Google Forms Entering Grade 5 through Entering Grade 7

Board Builder - Discovery Education

One of the options for a project is to use Board Builder on Discovery Education. There are links to Discovery Education off the media center webpage or use the link provided above. Students will logon to Discovery by putting cms in front of their student id number. The password is their birthdate. For students needing assistance with creating boards there is a screencast tutorial on the CMS media center "How To" links. Just scroll down until you see "Creating a Presentation on Board Builder through Discovery Education. Students should not worry over the summer about sharing a board they created with their new teacher in the fall. Students can discuss with their ELA teacher in the fall how to share the board they have created. Students who are entering 5th grade will not have Discovery accounts available until the fall.

2018 Criteria Checklists and Projects for Entering 5th Grade through Entering Grade 8

These lists also include projects that students can complete on books they have read.

Option Nonfiction Google Book Reports - Google Forms Entering Grade 5 and Entering Grade 7

Rooster Game Books for Academic Year 2018-2019 Grade 5

CMS Book Battle Books Academic Year 2018-2019 Grades 6-8

Scholastic Summer Reading Program

Does your child need a little extra motivation to read over the summer? Check out the Scholastic Summer Reading Challenge.

"The Scholastic Summer Reading Challenge, a free online and mobile reading program, helps kids discover the power and joy of reading during the summer. As kids log their reading minutes, they will unlock weekly milestones, earn digital rewards, and gain access to fun activities and more." (from Scholastic website)

While this program does have clear commercial ties with Scholastic products being featured it has been proven to be a real motivator for some students. You can participate in this program as an individual family. 

Summer Reading Advisory- Please use our Readers' Advisory page to find all kinds of reading suggestions for your child.

  For tips on books to read investigate links on our Readers' Advisory page.

Local Public Libraries

The local public libraries are wonderful resources for our students during the summer!

Check out what is happening at our local libraries:

Ashaway Free Library

Clark Memorial Library

Cross' Mills Library

Langworthy Public Library 

Westerly Public Library

eBook Resources

CMS also subscribes to a K-8 eBook Collection database. This database includes both fiction and nonfiction books. To access this database go to the CMS media center webpage. Under the “Research” column click on “eBooks”. Find the link for the K-8 eBook Collection.There is a “Help” link near the top right hand corner with a link for eBooks if you are unsure how to work with an eBook. Please check your device for compatibility as these books may not play on all devices. Caution: Some of these books contain mature content! The username and password to access this database from home was included in the summer reading brochure.
 
Students can also access eBooks through Destiny Quest. There is a screencast in the library "How To" section on how to check out ebooks that are on Destiny Quest. Students who are entering 5th grade may not have access to logging on to Destiny Quest until the fall.